BLiSS Regatta in Review

A stunning autumn day for the BLISS Regatta
The RBYC BLiSS Regatta, which is also “Race 5” of the Port Phillip Women’s Keelboat Regatta (PPWCS), was sailed Sunday 30 April. The stunning autumn day threatened to offer sunshine but no wind. Patience paid off, and Race Officer Lou Hutton was able to provide the 16 boats with three windward leeward races as planned. Competitors made the trip from several other clubs and some crew flew in from interstate. A special shout out to Wayne Seaward who entered both his boats Pacemaker and Cyan Moon, bringing his Sydney Hobart crew in to participate. Once again, many thanks to PRO Lou Hutton and the RBYC race management team for meeting the joint challenges of a shifting breeze and a wide range of performance handicaps. Everyone loved the day.

At the prize giving afterward, the Commodores of three visiting yacht clubs were in attendance; Commodore Lee Renfree of QCYC, Commodore Cyrus Allen of ORCV and Commodore Tim Olding of RYCV. RBYC Commodore Niesje Hees introduced Past Commodore Wendy Luck, who shared some of her history at RBYC. Times were very different for women 40 years ago! Wendy’s passion for sailing and long standing participation in race management was obviously appreciated by everyone in the room.

Marnie Irving and Cath Hurly from the BLISS Organising committee expressed their gratitude to the loyal sponsors who have supported BLISS for many years. Competitors were treated to a glass of champagne by sponsor Pommery. YRSA sponsored the fabulous Quest training experience sessions prior to the regatta. Generous prizes were provided by Yachtmaster, K2 Physiotherapy, Mandy Jackson Independent Nutrimetics Consultant and RBYC.

Several boats won prizes but the outstanding performance of the day was Katie Holroyd and crew on Serious Yahoo who won the BLISS trophy (best boat on PHD), as well as the Revelle Trophy (PPWCS winner on PHD), which was presented by Diarne Revelle.
The Associates Cup (best RBYC boat and skipper) was won by Julie McKay on Another Chapter, with Maia Hester on Amazing Grace second and Henrietta McRae on Dejoka third.
Here is a link to the results
BLiSS Regatta 2023

Thanks to RBYC staff for providing a welcoming atmosphere and a well organised event. We look forward to seeing everyone back next year!