Club Sailing

Cyan Moon: divisional win in Sydney-Hobart Race

A special congratulations to RBYC member Wayne Seaward and his Beneteau Oceanis 473, Cyan Moon, which came 1st in PHS in the Sydney Hobart, wining the RANSA Trophy and the CYCA Trophy. Wayne mounted a well organised campaign, recruiting 5 men and 5 women from Victoria Queensland and New South Wales. These were Navigator Ian Mounsey along with Robert Arthur, Louise Cotter, Maud Demazure, Margaret Findlay, Mark Gibbs, Mark McAllister, Rebecca Wells and Mindy Wilson.

Cyan Moon led for much of the race and then dropped to 9th when the gooseneck broke. Not to be deterred, a jury repair was expeditiously rigged, and the boat soon regained its lead.

Wayne has acknowledged his crew as well as all his supporters who are just as thrilled as he is.

Other Christmas – New Year racing

Well done to all the RBYC boats and crews who participated in racing between Christmas and New Year. Other RBYC boats and crews participating in either the Sydney-Hobart or Melbourne Hobart;

Rolex Sydney – Hobart (Rush)

Melbourne – Hobart (Alex–Team Macadie, Another Chapter, Blue Water Tracks, Gusto, Hartbreaker, Jaffa, Moana, Morning Lassie, Tai Tam, Under Capricorn, Ginan)

Results, photos and news for Sydney-Hobart are available on the Sydney Hobart website and Facebook Page.

For Melbourne-Hobart see the ORCV website and Facebook page.

While you are checking out the ORCV page, have a look at the Cock of the Bay Results with a number of RBYC boats participating. Special mention to Oobleck (Jim Leckey) and Another Chapter (Greg Clinnick) for coming 4th and 5th respectively in PHS.

After Boxing day there was the Petersville Regatta. Well done to Jamhu (Phil Bedlington), who came 2nd in Division 1 AMS, and 3rd in ORC.