Australian Minnow Championships

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on google
Share on linkedin

The 40th Australian Minnow Championships were held in Paynesville where they were hosted by the Gippsland Lakes Yacht Club.

There were 40 competitors across two fleets, Open and Novice. Sailors came from WA, the NT, VIC and QLD.

An invitation race and 12 races were completed between 20 – 26 January 2019.

Sailors and supporters were happy with the conditions. There was no sailing on the Friday as it was too hot.

Over 75 volunteers helped out at the Regatta. The PRO was Ross Wilson with James Frecheville the RO for the novice fleet.

Sam Backwell from Royal Brighton Yacht Club and Blairgowrie Yacht Squadron, sailing Lionheart 1199 was the overall winner. He won the invitation race and 8 out of the 12 races. His drops were a second and a third.

The Junior title and first female went to Ellie Cowell (also from Blairgowrie and RBYC) sailing Speedaway. She was 6th overall.
Aden McGrath from Darwin Sailing Club was second and Tom Warner from Blairgowrie and RBYC was third.

In the Novice fleet Tessa Kohne from McCrae was overall winner and first female. Local Gippsland sailor Tegwyn Somerville was second and Samantha Kemp from Beaumaris third.